Does Pizza Dough have Eggs or Milk?

Most pizza recipes do not require eggs or milk. Typically, pizza dough, such as a Neapolitan Pizza dough, calls for flour, salt, water, yeast, and sugar. However, some pizza restaurants and frozen pizza makers use eggs or milk in pizza dough.

Therefore, it’s good to check the ingredients if you do not want to consume eggs or milk.

Pizza dough is simple food–it just requires four ingredients. Some chefs put sugar in pizza dough or use olive oil to brush the dough before baking, but for the most part, pizza is made from flour, water, salt, and yeast.

It isn’t safe to assume that ALL pizza bakers use only the above four (or six) pizza ingredients.

If you are concerned about what is in your pizza, definitely check it out. Also, read the ingredients when buying a frozen pizza, as some manufacturers will include dairy or egg in the crust.

If getting pizza from a restaurant, you can call and ask or find the information online. Read on for more information about eggs and milk in pizza dough.

Does Pizza Dough Contain Eggs?

Typical pizza dough does not contain eggs, but some more bread-like or deep-dish pizzas might. Eggs will add protein and fat to the dough, which will change the consistency somewhat. In addition, eggs may make the dough a slightly more golden color.

Chefs may also use an egg wash to coat the dough before cooking, rather than olive oil. However, you can always ask a restaurant if they will use olive oil instead of egg wash.

Any dough will rise slightly more if it contains eggs. Furthermore, additional fat from the egg will change the texture of the dough, and it might be slightly lighter.

Does Pizza Dough Contain Milk?

Again, the majority of pizza recipes probably do not contain milk. However, some prominent chain pizza places do put milk in their dough. Of course, you can always call and ask (don’t assume that if you order no cheese, that will tip them off that you don’t eat dairy).

For large chain restaurants, you can find nutritional information online. However, it doesn’t hurt to call and confirm if it is essential for you to avoid milk and eggs.

Milk is sometimes added to improve the browning of the dough and may make the dough slightly more tender.

Is Pizza Dough Vegan?

Most pizza dough recipes do not call for animal products–such as milk, eggs, lard, or honey–and are therefore considered by many to be vegan.

(Pizza dough typically contains yeast, however. There are yeast-free pizza dough recipes that you can find online.)

If you are a vegan, it is good to ensure that beaten eggs aren’t used to coat the dough before cooking.

Furthermore, some pizza dough recipes may use lard or butter to make the dough soft or to change the flavor.

Many chain pizza places offer some vegan pizza (at least one of their crusts does not contain animal products). This information can be found online or by calling the restaurant. In addition, veggie toppings are vegan, and pizza sauce and certain dipping sauces are also good vegan options.

Can I Put Eggs in Pizza Dough?

Eggs will add to the browning of the crust slightly and may add richness to the crust’s flavor. (Though some pizza makers point out that this slight flavor boost is negligible and usually overpowered by the flavorful toppings, cheese, and sauce added to the pizza.)

Egg whites are sometimes added to pizza dough to make a crispier crust. (Though if you aren’t getting a crispy crust, you could also consider using a pizza stone or baking the pizza for slightly longer.)

If you want to try adding eggs to pizza dough, you can find many recipes online that call for the addition of eggs (some use milk and eggs). So give it a try!

You can undoubtedly beat an egg and brush it on the dough before baking to add shine and keep the dough from sticking. (Or use olive oil or vegetable oil–you won’t need very much.)

Can I Put Milk in Pizza Dough?

You can substitute milk for water in pizza dough. Occasionally milk is added to pizza dough to improve the browning of the dough or make the flavor slightly richer. If a lot of milk is added, the crust might become somewhat trickier. However, some pizza enthusiasts love the tender and sweeter crust that milk can achieve.

Milk will add calcium and sugar to the nutritional value of your dough (and perhaps fat, depending on what milk you are using).

Liquid milk may not change the flavor or texture of pizza dough much, so chefs that want to use milk use dry whole milk instead. If you are using dry milk, you may need to adjust the amount of water you add to your dough.


If you look for pizza recipes to make at home, most of them will not call for eggs or milk. This is because pizza dough is the simplest of breads, meant mainly to support the flavors of the cheese, toppings, etc.

Certain specialty recipes are popping up, calling for the addition of proteins and fats to change the texture, flavor, and look of the crust. Some call for eggs, milk, lard, butter, or cheese.

If you are eating in a restaurant and want to avoid milk, eggs, or other animal products, ask the chef or restaurant, so you know what’s in your crust.

If you want to try to make pizza crust with milk or eggs–go for it! It is always fun to try out new recipes. In addition, you may want to do a taste test and see if you can tell the differences between the classic recipe and recipes with any notable additions.